Press "Enter" to skip to content

Race 36 of the 2018 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series: Ford Ecoboost 400 Stage 3 Write-Up at Homestead-Miami Speedway

Joey Logano held the high line while Kevin Harvick continues to pull off for the lead in the bottom lane.

Although, Logano fought back before Martin Truex Jr. bumped Harvick to 3rd.

Harvick didn’t have a great restart having struggled on the short run such as slicker tires & free in the middle.

Stage 2 winner Kyle Larson who restarted in 5th has kept Harvick out of the Top 3.

And it goes from bad to worse when Harvick struggled with no grip where the same said for Kyle Busch with his car a bit loose.

Although, these two drivers may get a chance to redeem themselves next time around.

That’s where Kyle Larson tagged heavily with the wall at Turn 2 and ended up with the right rear quarter panel damage on Lap 194.

But for Kyle Busch, his woes on pit road goes on under yellow when his crew struggled to get the right front fixed on time.

As the next restart fired off with 68 to go, Truex tried to use the low line in leapfrogging Logano.

But Logano’s strong high lane held Truex off in 2nd as Harvick re-enters the Top 3.

Adding a small piece of tape plus the wedge adjustment during his previous stop helped him solve most of Harvick’s issues on the radio.

Stage 3 Part 2

All Championship 4 drivers are running from 1st to 4th.

Joey Logano still leads ahead of Martin Truex Jr. while Kyle Busch runs outside the Top 3 behind Kevin Harvick.

With 51 to go, Truex gave his full tilt on Logano on the bottom line through the backstretch.

And Truex successfully cleared Logano at Turn 3 as his No.78 Toyota moves on the high line.

9-10 laps later, some driver hit pit road under green for the final time in 2018.

Although, Truex came here for some change with a clear advantage.

But Truex took a big blow when a slow stop allowed Joey Logano to swoop ahead of him at pit exit.

However, Truex re-gained 4th past Logano as Kyle Busch leads up front with 20 to go.

At the same time, Daniel Suarez spun off from Brad Keselowski’s front bumper before Suarez picked up a right front flat tire.

Stage 3 Part 3, Last 20 laps.

Kyle Busch may have made mistakes earlier in the day.

But this time, the No.18 crew produced a much-needed stop that helped Ky. Busch wins the race off pit road.

With 15 to go, Truex pulled off the bottom line and successfully cleared Kyle Busch & Joey Logano by four car-lengths.

But Logano fought back Truex on the outside line three laps later and able to hold on until the finish line.

At last, Joey Logano both won the Ford Ecoboost 400 & the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Championship.

It’s the second time that Team Penske won a Cup Championship since Brad Keselowski in 2012.

And three overall in NASCAR for this organization if you add Keselowski’s XFINITY Series Title from 2010.


  1. Joey Logano
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Matt Kenseth
  7. Chase Elliott
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Aric Almirola
  10. Kurt Busch
  11. Austin Dillon
  12. Denny Hamlin
  13. Kyle Larson
  14. Jimmie Johnson
  15. Ryan Newman
  16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  17. Ryan Blaney
  18. Jamie McMurray
  19. AJ Allmendinger
  20. David Ragan
  21. Bubba Wallace
  22. Ty Dillon
  23. Chris Buescher
  24. William Byron
  25. Paul Menard
  26. Matt DiBenedetto
  27. Erik Jones
  28. Michael McDowell
  29. Alex Bowman
  30. Daniel Suarez
  31. Landon Cassill
  32. J.J Yeley
  33. Ross Chastain
  34. Corey LaJoie
  35. BJ McLeod
  36. Kyle Weatherman
  37. Timmy Hill
  38. Tanner Berryhill
  39. Regan Smith

Image Reference

Shop for 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Gear at

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *